Converting to Judaism

The Oys and Joys of Choosing A Jewish Life

Challah in the House!

on June 22, 2014

Hooray!! My first attempt at homemade challah!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Aside from being a little darker and denser than I wanted, I think it was a good (and tasty) effort. 🙂

The recipe came from a cookbook my mom owns, The Jewish Holiday Kitchen, and the it’s called 400 Year-Old Challah. Works for me.

4 responses to “Challah in the House!

  1. Adam says:

    If you want to see a video with different ways of braiding challot, here’s a link:

    • jnbwriter14 says:

      Oooooh thanks! I followed the instructions in my recipe for a 4-strand braid, but this video has quite the interesting variety. The 4th style where she cuts the strand and it looks like a flower is really cool.

  2. Adam says:

    How are things going? Been a while since you posted.

Leave a Reply

