Converting to Judaism

The Oys and Joys of Choosing A Jewish Life

Back to the Grind

on September 7, 2014

I can’t believe it’s been nearly a month since I last blogged. Let me catch you up on the excitement that’s happening now that I’m back in NY:

-I start my official conversion classes IN TWO DAYS! Can’t wait. I spent all of last fall searching the surrounding area for a class that best fits my needs, and the one at East Meadow Jewish center seems like the best way to go. Wish me luck as I continue my learning.

-I had an incredibly restful, amazing Shabbat. Separate blog post on that later.

-My a cappella group is holding auditions this week, and we had our first performance of the semester at Hillel’s Shabbat dinner. I’m excited to see the group grow and make beautiful music together.

-I’ve met some wonderful first-year students and have already formed some great friendships.

-I am partaking in the #sukkahchallenge set up by Rabbi Lyle, our director of Jewish Life on campus. It’s a 5 in 5 challenge: five chapters of the Mishnah Sukkah in five weeks. We read, study with a chevruta (partner), and then get together for a group discussion.

I am really, really looking forward to the holidays. I hope that the revitalized energy I feel at the start of this new school year is a harbinger for all the goods things to come in the new year.

2 responses to “Back to the Grind

  1. Adam says:

    It’s good to see you back! My classes start in the spring, but my partner and I are also going to take our temple’s “Taste of Judaism” three-week class in November, I think.

    I’m glad you had a restful Shabbat! And I want to hear more about your a capella group. Do you have videos or recordings? Do tell!

    • Jenn says:

      Interesting! A taste of Judaism sounds like an apt name; there’s not much you can cover in only three weeks.

      I am still in the process of uploading videos from last year, but we do have a few on youtube here: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdByve1UDVOuzEfAd-nUCfA. We’ve been an all female group for 4 years now, but I’m looking to incorporate some guys this year. *fingers crossed*

      And in case I hadn’t mentioned it before, Chai Notes is Hofstra Hillel’s community service, Jewish a cappella group, so we sing on campus, at Hillel events, and within the local Jewish community at nursing homes, day camps, and temples.

Leave a Reply

