Converting to Judaism

The Oys and Joys of Choosing A Jewish Life

It’s A Date

on June 2, 2015

As of today, I am officially going before the bet din on June 11th at 3:30PM!!!

The bet din is a council of rabbis, in this case three of them, and they make decisions about legal matters within Judaism. The item up for discussion on June 11th is my conversion. If they decide I am kosher, I get to go to the mikveh- the ritual bath in which I will immerse myself completely- and say the blessing and BAM! New Jew. Official and everything.

Words can not even begin to express how excited I am. I don’t even know where to start. I feel like I’ve been waiting so long for this date and now it’s finally here. It’s such a beautiful and wonderful culmination of years worth of studying and learning and loving.

I wanted to share with you all that it’s finally happening, and as the day gets closer, I’m sure I’ll have more thoughts to add and feelings to share. So stay tuned.

8 responses to “It’s A Date

  1. Adam says:

    Mazel Tov! I am thrilled for you.

  2. Sophina says:

    Wow! Congratulations! I’m so happy for you – keep us posted. Would love to know how you get on x

  3. katybug18 says:

    so have you updated since then?

Leave a Reply

